Dark sandy beach with waves and wooded hills across the bay.

Costa Rica · Osa & Corcovado

Corcovado sectors and their status

Each sector has different access, capacity and rules. Check which are open on your dates, especially in October.

7 places4 closed or restricted, flagged

  1. Corcovado National Park1

    Photo: Bernard Gagnon, CC0

    WildlifeRestricted access

    Corcovado National Park

    Southwest coast of the Osa Peninsula21.2 km from the centre

    Entry
    $16.95
    Hours
    7:00 to 15:00
    Booking
    Required

    A park of 42,560 land hectares that, according to SINAC, holds about 2.5% of the planet’s biodiversity. It is visited through six sectors, always with a prior reservation and, in practice, with a certified guide.

    Only with a prior SINAC reservation and a registered guide. In October 2026 Sirena, Los Patos and El Tigre close; San Pedrillo and La Leona stay open. If you travel in October, pick one of those two sectors.

    Source: SINAC – Parque Nacional Corcovado · 2026 · +3

    Practical details and sources
    Entry
    $16.95 for non-resident foreign adults and $5.65 for children 2 to 12, VAT included (SINAC). Guide and transport are extra.
    Hours
    Daily 7:00 to 15:00 (SINAC).
    Booking
    Mandatory reservation by email to SINAC (acosa.reservaciones@sinac.go.cr), up to 6 months ahead; groups of at most 10 plus a guide; payment by bank deposit.

    Tip: Swimming at its beaches, single-use plastic, picnics and night walks are all prohibited.

    Nearby: Night walks inside Corcovado (0 km) · Sirena Biological Station (Corcovado) (7.8 km) · Los Patos sector (Corcovado) (8.6 km)

    Sources: SINAC – Parque Nacional Corcovado · SINAC – Resolución de reservaciones del PN Corcovado · Tico Times – Costa Rica restores visitor capacity at Corcovado’s Sirena Station · Delfino.cr – Corcovado restablece aforo de 366 personas en Sirena

    Find tours(external link) Link to an external platform. Prices, schedules and availability are set by each operator.
  2. 2

    NatureRestricted access

    San Pedrillo sector (Corcovado)

    North coast of Corcovado, 45–60 min by boat from Drake Bay13.2 km from the centre

    Entry
    $16.95
    Hours
    Not stated
    Booking
    Required

    The park’s northern sector, reached by boat from Drake Bay. It has the Catarata-San Pedrillo trail (1.5 km), the Llorona trail (7 km), the Pargo and the Marcos Reyes trails, with denser, hillier forest than Sirena.

    Open in October 2026 with a cap of 120 people a day, but it requires a SINAC reservation and a guide. Book early if you travel that month, as it is one of only two sectors available.

    Source: SINAC – Parque Nacional Corcovado · 2026 · +2

    Practical details and sources
    Entry
    $16.95 for non-resident foreign adults and $5.65 for children 2 to 12, VAT included (SINAC). Guide and transport are extra.
    Booking
    Mandatory reservation by email to SINAC (acosa.reservaciones@sinac.go.cr), up to 6 months ahead; groups of at most 10 plus a guide; payment by bank deposit.
    Time needed
    A day trip from Drake Bay.

    Tip: The landing is on the beach and depends on the sea; wear shoes that can get wet.

    Nearby: San Josecito beach (Drake) (6 km) · Río Claro and Punta Río Claro Refuge (6.6 km) · Los Planes sector (Corcovado) (7.5 km)

    Sources: SINAC – Parque Nacional Corcovado · Tico Times – Costa Rica restores visitor capacity at Corcovado’s Sirena Station · Gringo Curt – San Pedrillo

    Find tours(external link) Link to an external platform. Prices, schedules and availability are set by each operator.
  3. 3

    NatureRestricted access

    La Leona sector (Corcovado)

    Carate, at the end of the road from Puerto Jiménez36.4 km from the centre

    Entry
    $16.95
    Hours
    Not stated
    Booking
    Required

    The park’s southern entrance, about a 3 km beach walk from Carate. Day hikes along the coast start here, as does the traverse to Sirena, which requires a guide.

    Open in October 2026 with a cap of 80 people a day. You need a SINAC reservation and a guide, which is mandatory on the stretch from La Leona to Sirena.

    Source: SINAC – Parque Nacional Corcovado · 2026 · +2

    Practical details and sources
    Entry
    $16.95 for non-resident foreign adults and $5.65 for children 2 to 12, VAT included (SINAC). Guide and transport are extra.
    Booking
    Mandatory reservation by email to SINAC (acosa.reservaciones@sinac.go.cr), up to 6 months ahead; groups of at most 10 plus a guide; payment by bank deposit.
    Time needed
    The day hike usually totals 12–16 km round trip from Carate (Osa Tourism).

    Tip: SINAC notes that turtle hatchings can be seen in nesting season. Time the beach walk with the tide.

    Nearby: Carate (2.9 km) · El Tigre sector (Corcovado) (11.8 km) · Sirena Biological Station (Corcovado) (11.9 km)

    Sources: SINAC – Parque Nacional Corcovado · Tico Times – Costa Rica restores visitor capacity at Corcovado’s Sirena Station · Osa Tourism – Hiking tours (La Leona day tour)

    Find tours(external link) Link to an external platform. Prices, schedules and availability are set by each operator.
  4. Sirena Biological Station (Corcovado)4

    Photo: Bernard Gagnon, CC0

    WildlifeSeasonal

    Sirena Biological Station (Corcovado)

    Middle of the Corcovado coast; by boat from Drake Bay or on foot from La Leona or Los Patos28.1 km from the centre

    Entry
    $16.95
    Hours
    Not stated
    Booking
    Required

    The sector with the most large wildlife in the park: about 20 km of trails, the Río Claro pool and the Sirena river mouth, where bull sharks and crocodiles enter at high tide. It allows day visits and overnight stays at the station.

    Closed throughout October 2026 for maintenance and rain. On 17 September 2026 it regained its capacity of 366 people a day (230 day visitors and 105 overnight). In October, visit San Pedrillo or La Leona instead.

    Source: SINAC – Parque Nacional Corcovado · 2026 · +2

    Practical details and sources
    Entry
    $16.95 for non-resident foreign adults and $5.65 for children 2 to 12, VAT included (SINAC). Guide and transport are extra.
    Booking
    Mandatory reservation by email to SINAC (acosa.reservaciones@sinac.go.cr), up to 6 months ahead; groups of at most 10 plus a guide; payment by bank deposit.

    Tip: Food may not be brought into Sirena; meals are reserved with the station. To stay overnight bring sheets, a towel and toiletries.

    Nearby: Corcovado National Park (7.8 km) · Night walks inside Corcovado (7.8 km) · La Leona sector (Corcovado) (11.9 km)

    Sources: SINAC – Parque Nacional Corcovado · Tico Times – Costa Rica restores visitor capacity at Corcovado’s Sirena Station · Delfino.cr – Corcovado restablece aforo de 366 personas en Sirena

    Find tours(external link) Link to an external platform. Prices, schedules and availability are set by each operator.
  5. 5

    NatureSeasonal

    Los Patos sector (Corcovado)

    From La Palma, northwest of Puerto Jiménez24.2 km from the centre

    Entry
    $16.95
    Hours
    Not stated
    Booking
    Required

    The park’s northeastern entrance, via La Palma. Its local trails pass the Rincón river, a waterfall and tall forest near the Guaymí indigenous territory; it is also the start of the traverse to Sirena.

    Closed throughout October 2026 for maintenance and rain; the rest of the year it has a cap of 80 people a day. In October, use La Leona as your entrance from the Puerto Jiménez side.

    Source: SINAC – Parque Nacional Corcovado · 2026 · +2

    Practical details and sources
    Entry
    $16.95 for non-resident foreign adults and $5.65 for children 2 to 12, VAT included (SINAC). Guide and transport are extra.
    Booking
    Mandatory reservation by email to SINAC (acosa.reservaciones@sinac.go.cr), up to 6 months ahead; groups of at most 10 plus a guide; payment by bank deposit.
    Time needed
    SINAC recommends about three days for the full Patos-Sirena-Leona route.

    Nearby: Chocolate tours near Puerto Jiménez (8 km) · Corcovado National Park (8.6 km) · Night walks inside Corcovado (8.6 km)

    Sources: SINAC – Parque Nacional Corcovado · Tico Times – Costa Rica restores visitor capacity at Corcovado’s Sirena Station · Delfino.cr – Corcovado restablece aforo de 366 personas en Sirena

    Find tours(external link) Link to an external platform. Prices, schedules and availability are set by each operator.
  6. 6

    AdventureSeasonal

    El Tigre sector (Corcovado)

    Dos Brazos del Río Tigre, west of Puerto Jiménez35.3 km from the centre

    Entry
    $16.95
    Hours
    Not stated
    Booking
    Not stated

    An entrance via Dos Brazos del Río Tigre, a former gold-mining village. SINAC describes it as a tough 7 km hike with viewpoints from some of the park’s highest points.

    Closed throughout October 2026; the rest of the year it has a cap of 80 people a day. Meanwhile you can visit La Leona or San Pedrillo.

    Source: SINAC – Parque Nacional Corcovado · 2026 · +3

    Practical details and sources
    Entry
    $16.95 for non-resident foreign adults and $5.65 for children 2 to 12, VAT included (SINAC). Guide and transport are extra.
    Booking
    Book with the Dos Brazos de Río Tigre conservation association (corcovadoeltigre@gmail.com), not with SINAC’s general office.

    Tip: It is one of two sectors with meals on prior reservation (the other is Sirena).

    Nearby: Chocolate tours near Puerto Jiménez (9.2 km) · Carate (10.7 km) · Osa Interactive Gardens night walk (11.3 km)

    Sources: SINAC – Parque Nacional Corcovado · Tico Times – Costa Rica restores visitor capacity at Corcovado’s Sirena Station · Delfino.cr – Corcovado restablece aforo de 366 personas en Sirena · Osa Tourism – Río Tigre history

    Find tours(external link) Link to an external platform. Prices, schedules and availability are set by each operator.
  7. 7

    NatureRestricted access

    Los Planes sector (Corcovado)

    About 40 minutes by car from Drake Bay6 km from the centre

    Entry
    $16.95
    Hours
    Not stated
    Booking
    Required

    A little-visited sector south of Drake Bay, on a plateau of primary forest with very large trees. The official trail is about 4.2 km and flat; it is reached by road from Drake.

    It requires a SINAC reservation and a guide. Reports on the October 2026 closures do not mention Los Planes: confirm with SINAC or your operator before going that month.

    Source: SINAC – Parque Nacional Corcovado · 2026 · +1

    Practical details and sources
    Entry
    $16.95 for non-resident foreign adults and $5.65 for children 2 to 12, VAT included (SINAC). Guide and transport are extra.
    Booking
    Mandatory reservation by email to SINAC (acosa.reservaciones@sinac.go.cr), up to 6 months ahead; groups of at most 10 plus a guide; payment by bank deposit.

    Nearby: Kayaking the Río Agujitas and the bay (2.5 km) · Naguala waterfall (2.5 km) · Río Claro and Punta Río Claro Refuge (2.7 km)

    Sources: SINAC – Parque Nacional Corcovado · Drake Bay Birdwatching – Los Planes hiking tour

    Find tours(external link) Link to an external platform. Prices, schedules and availability are set by each operator.

More guides for this destination