Sun near the horizon and rock formations off El Tunco beach.

El Salvador · The coast: La Libertad & La Paz

The port and the Tamanique waterfalls

The Mercado del Mar and seafront of the Port of La Libertad, and the Tamanique waterfalls. Both have unconfirmed status: read each card.

2 places2 unconfirmed, flagged

  1. 1

    FoodStatus unconfirmed

    Port of La Libertad: Mercado del Mar and seafront

    Puerto de La Libertad (La Libertad). The pin marks the seafront in OpenStreetMap, not the car-park entrance.17.6 km from the centre

    Entry
    Not stated
    Hours
    Last known: Jul 9, 2021
    Booking
    Not stated

    A CORSATUR tourist complex with the Mercado del Mar — fresh seafood stalls, a mooring for fishing boats and restaurants overlooking the pier — and the seafront promenade, whose upgrade is listed among the phase I works of Surf City (MITUR).

    Hours and parking unconfirmed: CORSATUR's page (published in June 2021 and updated in July) gave Monday to Thursday 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. and Friday to Sunday 7:30 a.m. to midnight, with parking at US$1 (motorbikes, cars and minibuses of up to 18 passengers) or US$2 (minibuses of more than 18 passengers and buses); the seafront was then being rebuilt. Check before you go.

    Source: CORSATUR – Complejo Turístico del Puerto de La Libertad (2021) · 2021 · +1

    Practical details and sources
  2. 2

    AdventureStatus unconfirmed

    Tamanique Waterfalls

    Tamanique (La Libertad). The pin marks the largest waterfall in OpenStreetMap; it is not the entrance or the place to meet the guides.31.6 km from the centre

    Entry
    Not confirmed
    Hours
    Not confirmed
    Booking
    Not confirmed

    Four waterfalls downstream of Tamanique, the largest about 40 m high, with pools; the fourth requires a descent with ropes, according to the official tourism portal (2025).

    Conditions unconfirmed: the official tourism portal (2025) and the press (April 2026) give local guides at Tamanique's central park, from 7:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., for about US$7 per person. The sources consulted do not confirm safety conditions for the walk. In March 2026 the head of Civil Protection warned of accidents from jumping from heights without knowing the depth (Infobae). Check before you go.

    Source: El Salvador Travel – Cascadas de Tamanique · 2025 · +2

    Practical details and sources
    Entry
    About US$7 per person with a local guide (official tourism portal, 2025; press, April 2026).
    Booking
    Local guides at Tamanique's central park (official tourism portal, 2025).

    Nearby: El Zonte Beach (9.9 km) · El Sunzal Beach (10.4 km) · El Tunco Beach (10.7 km)

    Sources: El Salvador Travel – Cascadas de Tamanique · El Salvador.com – Cascadas de El Salvador (30 abr. 2026) · Infobae – Recomendaciones contra ahogamientos (31 de marzo de 2026)

More guides for this destination